Can tweetures be the mirrors of lost memories?

I know it’s a long story. All began with change, and I think no one knows when exactly the change had begun.

If a far star could be a mirror reflecting the lights coming from the milky way much faster than the speed they came, it could send us a very precise definition of our past, our actual history.

Since no one could yet find the magic at the end of the universe, we are still trying to solve small puzzles using the tools we have in our minds and the artificial ones we create with our hands. We now have transferrable memories. We translate thoughts into words in literature, into tones and colors in art, into notes and tunes in music, cut and magically collected pieces of time in cinema.

Yes, this is a long story. It should have started on the walls of the caves where the first conscious habitants of the planet lived, when they started to live there. Maybe much before.

Could any of the first habitants there possibly imagine how their children would survive and be living at an unknown future of their time?

If we can move the mirrors of the universe to see the past and the present, we can see the future and understand what life is and who we are better.

Can we?

….

I think I had written the first of tweetures as “My Tweetures 2012” at the beginning of 2013.

Why do I say “I think”? Yes, I am not sure about the exact day I had completed writing it, but I can check the date I published. Yes,
“My Tweetures 2012” (1) has June 30, 2013 as the posting date.

I am not sure which date I should choose as my cyber-birthday. I had heard stories about mysterious computers since my childhood, I had probably read some articles on information machines before, but I think my first meeting with computers were through punching machines and cards, when I took the computer course at the university. I had used and carried, let’s say hundreds of cards to punch and compile simple programs. Luckily, when I started working on longer programs, there were terminals in the departments connected to the main frame at computer center. So it was possible to write and compile all the works on keyboards. These were around 1980’s. I bought my first personal computer in 1984, a 64K Amstradt loading and saving data from and a cassette tape; and the second in 1987, a 256K Multitech with 360K floppy only and mono screen. I don’t remember the model of the third which I started using in 1998; but it had color screen, hard drive and Internet connection with modem through phone line. I had started using e-mail and surfing through web pages. I did not use social communication platforms until the beginning of 2010’s, in which I registered to Facebook and Twitter.

I am not sure, but I feel 2010 can be my cyber-birthday. Although I did not use much at the beginning, social platforms changed the way I read, I write, I think, I communicate, I interact, I change, and I feel. I think the change has not been completed yet. I don’t know what I will look like after a balance between me and the technologies is established. If such a balance can be found.

So my profile picture, which were taken when I was around six years, corresponds to such a birthday.

….

Starting using social media is like arriving at a big city that you know nothing about. It was difficult for me to understand how this system of new communication works. This was not a surprise for me, I still don’t know anything about how real life relations operates. After a long delay, I decided to search what I am most interested in the two media platforms I started to use, for finding information and communication channels in art and literature. I formed a group, “Sanat Dunyasi” on Facebook, meaning “The World of Art and Literature”; and I followed some tweet channels in the same area on Twitter. Information was much, but meaningful and useful knowledge was not so. I tried to search, find, understand, organize and transform information in the areas I am interested in. Even the filtered information in my Facebook and Twitter activities were too much, so I tried to write some annual summaries about the shared information in these channels. The first titles of the series were “My Tweetures 2012” (1) for Twitter, and “Sanat Dunyasi 2012” (2) for Facebook activities. The following years brought “My Tweetures 2013” (3), “Sanat Dunyasi 2013” (4), “My Tweetures 2014:Sorrow” (5), “Sanat Dunyasi 2014” (6), and “Sanat Dunyasi 2015” (7).

It was also discouraging to see that even these attempts were not able to provide brief, clear, distilled, and meaningful information. It was also too difficult to find and reflect special moments of artistic creation, the “diamonds among broken glasses”.

“Tweetures” were an attempt to find a way for creating stories from tweets, “Face Stories” were trying to create links from memories of Facebook communication. (8) Selim was an unexpected Internet surfer who came from a past story to write his own stories in the new
channels. (9)

After trying to write several annual reviews, I remembered an opinion about new manufacturing technologies and thought again on my yearly attempts for Tweetures and Sanat Dunyasi.

I think the opinion was stated in an article discussing the change in manufacturing technologies, and their applications for designing new products. It was focusing on the problems of adapting to new technologies. It said that although any shape is possible with new tools, designers still use the same forms chosen due to restrictions of former technologies.

Isn’t the problem of adapting to new technologies also valid for new communication channels? Can we say that we are capable using all
new tools in the scope they have been designed and we will get the most from them, for ourselves, for our communities, and for the entire world globally? Or like the manufacturing practices having difficulties in adapting to new technologies, do intellectual creation and publishing sectors also have a big challenge of finding efficient ways to use the new platforms much better?

Considering the nature of change we are living, I concluded that periodical actions with traditional methods are about to be obsolete. Annual reviews have too many difficulties and restrictions. Maybe it is time to forget recurring actions, and try to find ways of responding changes with instant actions giving sections from the past and current practice, hoping to add some valuable hints for the future.

So I decided to give up writing annual reviews, but consider writing “Sections” only.

….

Starting from 04th June 2017 and browsing backwards looking at the past months and years for “Tweetures”, I could find a few sections from the information flown around me.

2017:

Georgina Miranda @georgina_here May 31
Amazing talk with @wordpressdotcom @IVYconnect @theCenter . Open source can bring the world together #tech #web #founder #sf
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Jun 01
If the world can be flexible enough to come together, why not? #tech #web #founder #sf

Rick Chesler @RickChesler Apr 10
George Orwell Wrote ‘#1984’ While Dying of #Tuberculosis #books
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Apr 10
Writers cannot write their own lives. They write what life gives and allows. It is almost always too hard to bear this enermous load.

Jon Winokur @AdviceToWriters Mar 23
I don’t need time. What I need is a deadline. DUKE ELLINGTON
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Mar 23
I don’t need a very long life. What I need is to know my time is limited.

Criterion Collection @Criterion
Watch as David Cairns explores the nuances that generate laughter in BEING THERE, Hal Ashby’s almost gagless comedy:
http://bit.ly/BeingThere2017
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Mar 22
“Nearly four decades after its initial release, Being There, Hal Ashby”

 

AdalinaMaeAuthor @AdalinaMae Mar 19
Nothing is predictable and nothing lasts forever. #heartbreak #quote #NothingIsPredictable #MustRead #Goodreads
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Mar 20
They separated. They are both fine now. Until a new hope for being understood. #Resilience

Jennifer Rose @SeeTheRoses Mar 14
The world becomes more clear when you look less at the physical & more at the soul
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000
And… You understand the world when you learn how and where to look at, and feel what you see in your soul.

Open Culture @openculture Mar 5
Ansel Adams, Photographer: 1958 Documentary Captures the Creative Process of the Iconic American Photographer. Watch
http://bit.ly/2hBsuRM
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 Mar 6
The documentary is as old as me. Not as strict as Tarkovsky, but I respect the power of B&W. I believe its permanent value.

 

2016:

Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 7 Jun 2016
“what you produce is sick, …. because it is the result of a distorted and unnatural development ….” Mann to Mann
The Paris Review @parisreview
Thomas Mann’s Brutal Review of His Older Brother’s Novel http://tpr.ly/1WD0TO7

Alex Myers @Alex_Austin 26 Jan 2016
I made a startling discovery.Time spent writing = output of work. Amazing. #writing
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 27 Jan 2016
Writing is the process of creating a new world of words based on moments lived and writing time spent. #writing

 

2015:

BBC Culture @BBC_Culture 17 Jun 2015
A century and a half after his birth,WB Yeats still shapes the English language http://bbc.in/1FeeZHx @JaneCiab
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000
“Like all great art, Yeats’ work refreshes itself with each generation”. Refreshes and lives forever in new forms.

2014:

The Paris Review @parisreview 16 Feb 2014
“The finished poem is present before it is written and one corrects it.” —Robert Graves
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 17 Feb 2014
“Why did you not write war poems?” GRAVES: “I did. But I destroyed them.” #poetry

2013:

OriginalBADYOGAKITTY @minamaya13 26 Dec 2013
Daily Wild – Nature’s Most Incredible: HAPPY BOXING DAY! #Kangaroos boxing at dawn, #Arapiles, Victoria, #Australia.
Mehmet Arat @mehmetarat2000 26 Dec 2013
@minamaya13 @aallemanwrites Very cute and interesting. It doesn’t look like a real fight. Is it so? I prefer it is not.

Maria Popova@brainpicker 25 Apr 2013
Tarkovsky’s advice to the young: Learn to enjoy your own company http://t.co/OW4AsXLUwS

2012:

K.M. Weiland? @KMWeiland 23 Nov 2012
“I write for the same reason I breathe … because if I didn’t, I would die.”?Isaac Asimov #amwriting

HuffPost Books @HuffPostBooks 6 Oct 2012
It’s the final day of Banned Books Week. Have you seen our amazing infographic?

Giuseppe Granieri @gg 14 Feb 2012
It’s not the tech writers, but writers of fiction who best help us understand what’s going on in the modern world http://ow.ly/94UwO

Paulo Coelho @paulocoelho 1 Jan 2012
To tweet is to put an ocean in a glass of water…

….

Can tweetures be the mirrors of lost memories? Of “Memories Lost”? (10)

 

1. Mehmet Arat, My Tweetures 2012, https://mehmetarat2000.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/my-tweetures-2012/; June 30, 2013
2. Mehmet Arat, Sanat Dünyası 2012, Uzaklardaki Ateş (The World of Art and Literature, The Faraway Fire);
http://mehmetarat2000.blogspot.com.tr/2013/05/sanat-dunyas-2012-uzaklardaki-ates.html; May 4, 2013
3. Mehmet Arat, My Tweetures 2013; https://mehmetarat2000.wordpress.com/2014/08/16/my-tweetures-2013/; August 16, 2014
4. Mehmet Arat, Sanat Dünyası 2013; http://mehmetarat2000.blogspot.com.tr/2014/04/sanat-dunyas-2013.html; April 20, 2014
5. Mehmet Arat, My Tweetures 2014:Sorrow; https://mehmetarat2000.wordpress.com/2015/08/23/my-tweetures-2014/; August 23,2015
6. Mehmet Arat, Sanat Dünyası 2014; http://mehmetarat2000.blogspot.com.tr/2015/08/sanat-dunyas-2014.html; August 8, 2015
7. Mehmet Arat, Sanat Dünyası 2015; http://mehmetarat2000.blogspot.com.tr/2016/01/sanat-dunyas-2015.html; January 8, 2016
8. Mehmet Arat, Yüz Öyküleri (Face Stories), http://yuzoykuleri.blogspot.com.tr/2014/04/yuz-oykuleri.html
9. Mehmet Arat, Fairy of Inspiration, https://mehmetarat2000.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/fairy-of-inspiration/
10. Mehmet Arat, Memories Lost, https://mehmetarat2000.wordpress.com/2017/06/04/memories-lost/

About Mehmet Arat

Trying to combine the past and present for a "Literature for Future".

Leave a Reply

